Archive for November, 2008

I can’t wait to see this movie. From the trailer looks really fun and cute, with Kim Jae Wook  OMG hehe ^_^


Read Full Post »

The 2008 Mnet Korean Music Festival (MKMF) took place Saturday November 15th at Seoul’s Jamsil stadium with it being hailed as the biggest-ever in it’s 10 year history. From the red carpet to the awards ceremony, the entire festival lasted 6 hours. Not only that, it was broadcast live in Korea, China and Japan at the same time which meant that much more watched the event for the first time in history. But the most important thing was who will walk away with the big awards.



In the end, the big awards was split between the 3 most popular groups in Korea right now, Big Bang, Wonder Girls and DBSK. This meant that the MKMF 2008 became an awards ceremony dominated by idol groups. Among the 3 big awards, Big Bang won the Artist of the Year, Wonder Girls won the Song of the Year (Nobody) while DBSK won the Album of the Year (Mirotic).

Big Bang, Wonder Girls and DBSK were all overcome with emotion as they spoke after receiving their awards. After receiving Song of the Year Award for Nobody, they expressed, “We really don’t know how to express our thanks for giving us this big award. We will release even better music to thank our fans.”

Big Bang’s T.O.P. expressed, “Compared to flowers which will wilt at unexpected times, I would prefer to be wild grass that can live a long life.” G-Dragon said, “It’s a really meaningful thing to receive the Artiste of the Year award as a singer. We will work even harder in future to become even better singers.” 



It was not just the big awards as Big Bang, Wonder Girls and DBSK also swept up other awards which they were nominated in. This also further established their high popularity status in Korea at the moment. Besides Song of the Year, the Wonder Girls also won Best Female Group and Best Music Video. DBSK picked up Netizen Popularity Award, Style Award and Overseas Viewers Award while Big Bang won the Best Male Group Award and Digital Music Award.


Winners were determined by online voting, panel of judges, album sales, digital downloads as the criteria. Over 30 awards were given away last night.

MKMF 2008: List of Winners

Artist of the Year – Big Bang (Haru Haru)
Song of the Year – Wonder Girls (Nobody)
Album of the Year – DBSK (Mirotic)

10th Anniversary Special Award – Shin Seung Hoon

Best Male Singer – Seotaiji (Moai)
Best Female Singer – Lee Hyori (U-Go-Girl)

Best Male Group – Big Bang (Haru Haru)
Best Female Group – Wonder Girls (Nobody)

Best Newcomer Male – Shinee (Nuna, You’re So Pretty)
Best Newcomer Female – Davichi (Love you Even Though I Hate You)

Best Rock – Nell
Best Hip-Hop – Epik High (One)
Best Ballad/R&B – Brown Eyes (Don’t Go, Don’t Go)
Best Dance Music – Lee Hyori (U-Go-Girl)
Best House & Electronic – Jewelry (One More Time)
Best MV – Wonder Girls (Nobody)
Best MV Director – Jang Jae Hyuk for Wonder Girls (Nobody)
Best OST – Kim Jong Wook & SG Wannabe (Fate Reverse, OST East of Eden)
Digital Music (Most Downloaded) – Big Bang

Auction Fashion – DBSK
Mobile Popularity – DBSK
Auction Netizen Popularity – DBSK
Overseas Viewers Award – DBSK

Asia Best New Star – Khalil Fong

Read Full Post »

The news, pictures and comments just keep coming. 2 days after the conclusion of the 2008 Mnet Korean Music Festival (MKMF), amidst all the special performances and awards, the highlight of Big Bang member T.O.P. locking lips with sexy diva Lee Hyori continued to dominate headlines in Korea.


T.O.P. kisses Lee Hyori

T.O.P. kisses Lee Hyori

 At the 2008 MKMF which was broadcast live in Korea, Japan and China on Saturday, millions saw T.O.P. kissing Lee Hyori on the lips while performing a special stage of Lie. Viewers who watched the somewhat unexpected scene playing out before their eyes commented on the internet, “Did they really kiss?”, “Was this planned beforehand?”, showing how surprised they were. 

Hyori was standing the middle of the stage as T.O.P. circled around her before going to her. He then seem to be attempting a kiss on her forehead.

top and hyori

top and hyori

A sigh of relief for VIPs as he turned his head, smiling at the crowd.


Gasps and shouts as T.O.P. suddenly kisses Hyori on the lips.


YG Entertainment explained the kiss, “The kissing scene that you see in the special stage was arranged upon the request of the MKMF organizers, Mnet. It was just an effect for the stage. It was prepared beforehand with ample notification for both parties who exchanged ideas on how to accomplish this.Please don’t think otherwise and treat this as a nice surprise.” T.O.P. and Hyori kiss scene has thus been the most searched term this few days.

Read Full Post »

MKMF 2008 Results


Big Bang at MKMF 2008 Awards

Big Bang at MKMF 2008 Awards


Here are the results:

Best album of the year [TVXQ- Mirotic/Jumun]

Best singer of the year [Bigbang- Haru Haru] 

Best song of the year  [Wonder Girls- Nobody]   

Best Male singer [Seo Taij- Moai]  

Best female singer [Lee hyori- U-Go-Girl]

Best male group [Bigbang]   

Best female group [Wonder Girls]  

Best male newcomer group [SHINee- Noona is so pretty]   

Best female newcomer group [Davichi- Love and War]     

Best rock music [Nell- Time of walking through my memories] 

Best Hiphop music [Epik High- One]  

Best Ballad/R&Bmusic  [Brown Eyes- Don’t leave] 

Best dance music [Lee Hyori- U-Go-Girl]  

Best House & Electronic music [Jewelry- One More Time]

Best MV [Wonder Girls-Nobody ]

Best MV director Jang jaehyuk [Wonder Girls- Nobody]  

Best OST  [Kim Jongwook & SG Wannabe -Fate Reverse] [Drama [East of Eden] OST]  

Auction Fashion award [TVXQ] 

Mobile award [TVXQ] 

Auction Netizen popularity [TVXQ]

Overseas popularity [TVXQ]

Read Full Post »